Homophobia

DON’T. Don’t try to reason with me, tell me I’m wrong or that you’re right, because every fiber of my being is going to disagree with you and there is nothing that will ever change my mind. I would consider myself an open minded, accepting person, but if you are homophobic I will not accept you.…

stop-homophobia

DON’T. Don’t try to reason with me, tell me I’m wrong or that you’re right, because every fiber of my being is going to disagree with you and there is nothing that will ever change my mind.

I would consider myself an open minded, accepting person, but if you are homophobic I will not accept you. Not as a friend, not as a good person, not as someone who could make the world a better place or even positively contribute to society. If you are homophobic i literally consider you one of the worst types of people on earth. Now some people may consider that a bit extreme, and question “well what about murderers, robbers, etc.” but are they really any different at all?

Openly homophobic people that scorn or make fun of homosexual people truly aren’t any better than murderers because i have heard of far too many a time where their actions had the exact same result as the result a murderer would have after they completed their intended action. I swear some people have to realize that there really shouldn’t be any sort of “norm” when it comes to a person’s sexuality, so even when people say something that could be easily perceived as homophobic, and someone calls them out on it and they say “oh well i didn’t know that person who was there when i said it was gay, so its not my fault.” NO. You cannot automatically assume someone is straight and expect them to tell you in order for you to not be disrespectful! Not only is it none of your business and they don’t have to tell you that in order for your behavior to change, but people shouldn’t being saying things like that regardless of whether or not a person of the sexuality you are making fun of is there or not.

Like i am not a homosexual, I’m pretty sure i am asexual or heterosexual, but i still feel offended and a very strong hatred around anyone and everyone that uses a slang term that means a sexuality in which differs from their own as an insult, or just plain out makes fun of a sexuality or a person because of their sexuality because it is just so wrong.

As much as i have always been an ally and seen everyone as equal regardless of there sexuality, because i really don’t think that should effect how you view a person, in the last 1-2 years my entire stand-point on how i see homophobic people has changed. Before i just didn’t like them, mostly ignored their behavior and went on with my day, but now, i hate them.

It really started when one of my very best friends told me she was bisexual. When she first told me i was just really happy she trusted me with that information and that she knew what she wanted and i was just really proud of her, especially when she told some of the girls in our class, she was just so strong 🙂 But then she started acting different, she wasn’t the bubbly, fun-loving, best friend that could never be down; she started to seem sad and not so energetic and she refused to tell me why. Then one day she showed me this statistics sheet that she had saved that was all about how much people were against homosexuals, and how people would get fired from jobs, how they weren’t an accepted part of society and just how sad it made her and i knew i had to try to change it.

I knew there wasn’t much i could do accept be there for her when she needed a friend, but i knew then and there i would never like or even be partially accepting to homophobic people. Like how am i supposed to go around liking the people that are hurting the  people i loved. If people weren’t homophobic my best friend that i love and care for so much would be happier, feel more excepted, she would be more comfortable in her own skin, and if you think i am going to walk around everyday letting the people that stop probably one of the most beautiful, caring and generous people i know not even fully enjoy her life, then you are wrong. 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.